New Release: Okkervil River

Posted on Sep. 9 2016

Okkervil River’s 8th studio album, ‘Away’ opens with a track titled “Okkervil River R.I.P.” which dismantles the band you know and rebuilds their sound from the ground up. “I think this record was me taking my life back to zero and starting to add it all back up again, one plus one plus one.”  says songwriter Will Sheff, whose writing was inspired by a period of loss and depression. Featuring vocals from Marissa Nadler and orchestral arrangements from composer Nathan Thatcher, the collection of slow burning songs is one Sheff says is “not really an Okkervil River album and it’s also my favorite Okkervil River album.”

Click below to stream, download or buy online: