Tkay Maidza Releases New Single ‘Simulation’

Posted on Oct. 17 2016

“Adelaide’s (and Australia’s) best hope for a huge international crossover star…. This one’s a big deal”Complex

“… a burbling futuristic pop-rap track… It’s a charismatic banger even before Mike shows up, with Maidza rocking a singsong flow somewhere in the space between Santigold and Charli XCX.”Stereogum

“Such is the bombast and no-prisoners arrogance, few things sound fresher, and this is untouchable on first glance. ‘Carry On’ shares the same confident strut of Tkay’s first steps, but it’s a far bigger beast.”DIY MAG

” a punchy anthem of self-assurance…” – Hypetrak

Tkay Maidza today unleashes ‘Simulation’, the second official single to be lifted from her forthcoming debut album TKAY, which is set to shake up audiences worldwide upon its release next Friday, October 28 via Downtown / Interscope Records.

Simulation‘ finds Maidza infusing melody-driven dance-pop with a sweet and tender soulfulness. Co-written by Tkay, along with her DJ and producer LK McKay and George Maple, Tkay says the track is about overcoming complacency and, “hoping to find something real after everything that is calculated and planned disappears. It’s so common that people get lazy when they feel content because they have partially achieved their goals and are living the way they dreamt about, thus beginning to think it’ll last forever…. I have noticed that things constantly change, so when something doesn’t go to plan it’s like cracks in the simulation become visible.”

Simulation‘ is the third cut to be revealed ahead of the release of her debut record, following the huge first official single ‘Carry On‘, featuring none other than cultural and political icon and one half of Run The Jewels – Killer Mike, which was added straight to high rotation on Autstralia’s triple j, topping their hit list and quickly gaining close to one million streams online. Maidza also recently dropped the online track ‘Tennies‘ – an ode to Tkay‘s favourite kicks – produced by LA-based producer Salva.

Having established herself as a commanding and complex vocalist and lyricist, the songs across TKAY channel a sense of defiance and attitude that could only be wielded by an artist blaring the kind of unique trail Maidza has already achieved in not only Australian hip hop but the Australian music industry as a whole. She brings a dance-ready yet reflective dynamic that endlessly warps genres and shows her affinity for everything from UK garage, grime, throwback hip-hop, and trap. Joining forces with producers like Salva (Young Thug, A$AP Ferg) and Dre Skull (Major Lazer, Snoop Dogg), Maidza continually pushes her music to the exciting edge of chaos but keeps it all grounded with her pop-perfect melodies and masterfully heavy grooves. Meanwhile her lyrics strike a rare balance of boldness and vulnerability that gives TKAY a potent emotional charge.

“The idea behind the album is that it’s like a soundtrack to a high school girl’s life,” explains Maidza, “It’s about feeling lost but then finding your way out. There are moments of confidence and moments of feeling lonely, but at the same time knowing that you don’t need anyone or anything to be strong.”

Nominated for Best International Act at the 2016 BET Awards, Maidza recently lent her vocals to Martin Solveig‘s chart-climbing single, ‘Do It Right‘ – highlighting the fact that she’s well on her to being an international break out star of the future.

But before she conquers the world, she’s set to embark on a string of not-to-be-missed headline shows in support of her debut album. Proudly supported by triple j, the tour kicks off in New Zealand on Wednesday October 26, before heading out across Australia, including shows in Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Adelaide and Hobart. Special guests Sable and Midas.Gold will be supporting Tkay on the road for all Australian shows, tickets are on sale now.

Watch for all the latest release and touring news.

Single ‘Simulation’ is Available Now HERE
Track listing
1. Always Been
2. Afterglow
3. Carry On
4. Simulation
5. Tennies
6. Monochrome
7. Follow Me
8. Castle In The Sky
9. Drumsticks No Guns
10. State Of Mind
11. House Of Cards
12. Supasonic
13. You Want
14. At Least I Know | facebook | instagram | twitter